Grumbling and Humbling

Friday morning I woke up with a sore throat and some mild aches. After unusual circumstances* the previous day which prevented KD and I from going to SPH, I knew that even though I was tired and felt sick I need to go to HIS and then my final class at SPH.

I was very tired when I arrived at SPH, but seeing the first graders light up when I walked into their classroom to teach art, I couldn’t help but be glad I showed up. The students were very excitable that day and quite chatty. I had to push my voice to be heard over their happy babbling as they worked on their art projects. Class ended and I reminded them that that was my last class with them. We took several photos together and then I did the class handshake and said “God bless you” to each individual student before walking out the door.

I was sad to leave them but my then very tired body ached to go home and rest. I walked to the pick up area to wait for KD so that we could head home together. I sat outside the main office, sweating profusely in the early afternoon heat and direct sunlight. My throat was aching more and more as it realized the strain of talking over 15 rambunctious first graders for 45 minutes.

Ping! I looked at my phone. A message from KD, “Did Suster Lowry talk to you? About meeting with her?” Oh great, I thought. I just want to go home. I don’t feel well, it’s quite possibly 14,000 degrees out here, and its our last day at SPH; what could she possibly need to meet with us for?

After a great deal of convincing over several more text messages from KD I finally got up from where I was sitting and trudged across campus. I walked into the clinic office and a wave of cool air rushed over me, curing one of my previous complaints.

Suster Lowry greeted us warmly and then handed both KD and I a small gift. There in the small package was a bolt of Papuan Batik cloth, a hand painted picture signed on the back by many of the SPH staff and teachers, and a whole lot of humbling. Two minutes prior I had been grumbling to myself (and a bit to KD) about how hot, tired, achy, and overall just done I was. Yet here Suster Lowry was (on behalf of SPH) trying to bless me.

And now I am reminded of the Israelites. The Israelites sure liked to grumble. But God was in the business of giving grace and blessing and humbling. He still is. I was so humbled by this thoughtful gift, graciously offered to me. Thankfully, Suster Lowry and the other SPH staff didn’t know how ugly my heart had been just moments before blessing me with a token of their appreciation, but God did. Even though He saw right through to my ugly, grumbly heart, He offered the grace I don’t deserve and in the process humbled me too.

 
*An in-home immigration interview, that was time consuming, but went well. Don’t stress, I’m still coming home and on time. It was just a formality and all went well!

Comments are closed.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑